#Review #NetGalley #TurnABlindEye #WilliamWarwick

Release Date: 1st April 2021 / Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Turn a Blind Eye is the third instalment in the gripping story of Detective Inspector William Warwick, by the master storyteller and Sunday Times number one bestselling author of the Clifton Chronicles.

William Warwick, now a Detective Inspector, is tasked with a dangerous new line of work, to go undercover and expose crime of another kind: corruption at the heart of the Metropolitan Police Force. His team is focused on following Detective Jerry Summers, a young officer whose lifestyle appears to exceed his income. But as a personal relationship develops with a member of William’s team, it threatens to compromise the whole investigation.

Meanwhile, a notorious drug baron goes on trial, with the prosecution case led by William’s father and sister. And William’s wife Beth, now a mother to twins, renews an old acquaintance who appears to have turned over a new leaf, or has she?

As the undercover officers start to draw the threads together, William realizes that the corruption may go deeper still, and more of his colleagues than he first thought might be willing to turn a blind eye.

Buy It Here!

My Review

This is book #3 of the William Warwick series.  I would recommend reading the series in order for better understanding of the stories.  The story picks straight up from the last book and William finds himself in the middle of a court case when drug king, Ahmed Rashidi is on trial.  William is also undercover to expose corruption within the Metropolitan Police and is finding that many of these officers are more than keen to ‘turn a blind eye’.  I have to admit, I found the first book in the series a little slow, but as the series has moved on, the books have got better.  I found this book to show Archer doing what he does best – gripping storylines, cliff-hangers at the end of every chapter and more twists and turns than you can shake a stick at.

William’s character is growing on me as the series moves on, and along with all the other characters, creates a great cast to complement the plot!  The storyline switches between the different characters with everything falling into place towards the end, although we are treated to several OMG moments along the way!  As usual, we end with another cliff-hangar, so I eagerly await the next instalment in the series to see how William’s story carries on!

This was a really enjoyable read, which had me hooked once I’d started it.  The chapters are short and snappy and this author is certainly the master of storytelling!  Full of surprises, shocks, twists and turns this book will keep you gripped until the very last page.

The Author

Jeffrey Archer, whose novels and short stories include the Clifton Chronicles, Kane and Abel and Cat O’ Nine Tales, has topped the bestseller lists around the world, with sales of over 275 million copies. He is the only author ever to have been a number one bestseller in fiction, short stories and non-fiction (The Prison Diaries). A member of the House of Lords for over a quarter of a century, the author is married to Dame Mary Archer, and they have two sons, two grandsons and a granddaughter.