#BlogTour #Review #NetGalley #EscapeToGiddywellGrange

Release Date: 18th September 2019 / Publisher: Hera Books

Maddy Young thought she had it all.

Swanky city apartment? – yep. Fancy car? sorted. High-flying career? – tick.

Even if she’s lost most of her friends because of spending all her time at work, and can’t remember when she last had fun, it’s worth it.

Until she’s suddenly made redundant. Now she’s 37, jobless, and after the breakup with the former love of her life, unhappily single.

Enter Maddy’s childhood friend, Beth, the owner of Growlers, the doggy daycare centre at Giddywell Grange, on a mission to make Maddy see there’s more to life than work.

Soon, Maddy is swapping spreadsheets for volunteer duty at the library, daily Starbucks for cups of tea with elderly neighbours, and her Prada handbag for doggy poo bags… And with Beth’s gorgeous brother, Alex, back from the States, Maddy starts to think that Giddywell Grange might just be her happy place.

But when her old life – and her old boyfriend – comes calling, will Maddy go back to the job she loved so much? Or will she discover that the key to happiness lies in making others happy?

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.

Buy It Here!

Amazon / Kobo / iBooks

My Review

Well, here we are back with this author’s second book, Escape to Giddywell Grange!  The title was the first thing that attracted me – Giddywell Grange, how delightful does that sound!  The second was the cover of the book looking all bright and beautiful!  The third was the author….well, let’s not lie here, the author was probably the first thing that attracted me to this book as I have read her first book Amazing Grace, which I loved!!  So based on those three initial thoughts, this book was always going to be a winner!!

In this book we meet Maddy, a high flying PR woman.  When she is made redundant not long after catching her boyfriend Jamie in bed with another woman, Maddy goes to her childhood home to stay with her mum and to gather her thoughts.  When her best friend, Beth is incapacitated due to an operation, Maddy offers to help run Beth’s business, a doggy day care centre called Growlers, alongside Beth’s dad and brother, Alex.  She also reluctantly agrees to help fulfil Beth’s commitments in the community, which she finds she actually quite enjoys!!  With the lovely Alex on hand to help out, Maddy begins to think the stressful, hectic PR life isn’t the life for her anymore…that is until Jamie turns up wanting her back!

I loved this book!! It was such a wonderful, refreshing and easy to read book!!  I have to admit I didn’t like Maddy initially and thought she came across as quite shallow.  She did however win me round and by the time she’s helping out at Growlers and delivering library books to housebound borrowers, my opinion of her had done a complete circle!!  It was funny to see Maddy thrown completely out of her comfort zone, but lovely to also see how every time she came to realise that nothing was as bad as it seemed!!  I loved her interactions with the local community and taking on the jobs that Beth would have done, and we could really have done with Maddy helping us out in the library where I work!!

There were so many things in this book which I could relate to, and probably why I enjoyed it so much, with the library, the sight impaired Mr Parkes and the elderly couple Ron and Leila Darby being my particular favourites!!  The fact that I work in a library and my husband is visually impaired kind of meant this book was made for me!!  Although I do have to take offence to Maddy’s view of being a librarian must be the most boring job in the world – because it really isn’t!!  The author has done a fabulous job of taking some of society’s stereotypes and turning them into something positive – old people aren’t dull, you don’t need to avoid visually impaired people and I repeat, it’s certainly not boring working in a library!!

I didn’t feel the romance was as ‘in your face’ as it was in the previous book, but there was still plenty to make your heart skip a beat.  For me, I liked it like this as it got to focus on Maddy and the big changes she makes to her life, and not just in the romance department!!  I did however love the side story of Maddy’s mum, Josie and her romance!!  This was tender and heart-warming and ended up just as it should have done!!

All in all, this was a fabulous feel-good read with plenty of love, tears and laughter!!  The characters all complimented the story perfectly and I really like the mention of characters from the author’s first book, which tied the two books together well!!  This was not just a story of friendship, family, good deeds and falling in love but about following your heart and believing in yourself and others!!  Cannot wait for the next book to see what this author comes up with next!!

The Author

Kim Nash lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter Roni, is PR & Social Media Manager for Bookouture and is a book blogger at www.kimthebookworm.co.uk

Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association’s Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can’t quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA. 

When she’s not working or writing, Kim can be found walking her dog, reading, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie and binge watching box sets on the TV. She’s also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs. 

Amazing Grace was her debut novel with Hera Books and came out in April 2019.

Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim’s second novel and will be published on September 18th 2019.

Twitter / Facebook / Instagram