#BooksOnTour #BlogTour #Review #NetGalley #ABodyInTheLakes

Release Date: 15th March 2019 / Publisher: Bookouture

The woman’s limbs were so thin; the skin on her arms as translucent as tracing paper. Around her neck lay a faint string of purple bruises. In one so frail, darker, angrier marks might be expected but Beth knew the bruising would have stopped the moment her heart stopped beating.

When a walker finds the body of a woman by the shores of Lake Ullswater, the police are put on high alert. Felicia Evans was known to be a tough character, but who would have strangled her?

Detective Beth Young quickly spots the links to three cold cases. Three women strangled and discarded in the stunning, wild hills of the Lake District.

As Beth begins tracking down witnesses, the team receives an anonymous letter claiming the charming mayor of Carlisle is behind the murders. There’s pressure from the top to clear his name. But Beth is determined to find the truth no matter whose feathers she ruffles in the process.

Beth knows the clock is ticking. The killer is hunting again. And it’s down toher to find who’s responsible before another woman becomes his prey…

A gripping edge-of-your-seat thriller from bestselling author Graham Smith, perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and J.R. Ellis. 

Buy It Here!

My Review

This is book #2 in the Detective Beth Young series.  It can be read as a standalone, but for continuity I would recommend to read them in order!

Yay, Beth Young is back!  I loved Beth in the previous book Death in the Lakes and she continues in this book to be as rugged and determined as she was then.  I believe, in my review for Death in the Lakes I likened Beth to a ‘dog with a bone’ due to her keenness to solve cases despite there being a lack of evidence!  Thankfully in this book, she is still carrying that bone and refusing to let it go!  Beth is a great character and I love her relationship with the rest of the team, particularly with her boss, DI Zoe O’Dowd.

Whilst not as gruesome as the previous book, it still provides a shocking storyline with the book beginning with the discovery of the horrific rape and murder of an elderly cancer victim.  I loved the initial twist which pointed to the murderer being the local Mayor, but as this was very early on in the story you just knew the author wasn’t going to give the plot away from the beginning and that there would be a lot more twists, turns and red herrings to come before the big reveal.

Based in the Lake District, the author gives stunning examples of the area’s natural beauty.  He also reminds us of how easy it is for a killer to dump several women’s bodies in its wild and desolate landscape and get away with it…..almost!  The author also has a definite knack in introducing so many different elements to a storyline but all in perfect proportion!  This book was shocking with its different murders, some of them being quite disturbing.  The descriptions were graphic (you didn’t really want to read them!) but hypnotic (you just couldn’t tear your eyes away!!)  There was plenty of suspense and tension, some romance and even a bit of dark humour!  I also have to add, completely off subject that I love Beth’s taste in music and completely agree that Guns ‘n’ Roses are the perfect band to drive to!!

This book was fast paced, gripping and held my interest right to the very last page.  There were lots of twists and turns and I wouldn’t have guessed the ending in a million years!  Very cleverly written, this series is getting better with each book.  I cannot wait for the next one in the series to follow on Beth’s story.

The Author

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel with Bookouture is set in Cumbria and the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland. 

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Facebook / Twitter / Website / Goodreads