#BooksOnTour #BlogTour #Review #NetGalley #WhenYoureGone

Release Date: 14th March 2019 / Publisher: Bookouture

Holly was overjoyed to discover she was pregnant. But the baby is unwell, and her relationship is fracturing under the stress. Just when she is at her lowest, she receives the worst news of all: her beloved nana, Annie, is dying.

But Annie has one final wish before she leaves. She asks Holly to find a memory box in the attic, and to read the handwritten pages within it to her, the most precious things she owns.

It’s the story of Arthur ‘Sketch’ Talbot, Annie’s first – and last – love, and how much he sacrificed to save her from a home where she didn’t feel safe. It’s Annie’s promise to Holly that it doesn’t matter how long you love someone – but how much.

As Holly reads her nana’s story to her one last time, could it help her find the strength to face her own future? Is fulfilling her grandmother’s final wish really a gift for Holly?

Compelling, heart-breaking, and emotionally vivid, When You’re Gone will break your heart and fix it anew. A gripping and emotional novel about family, love and sacrifice, for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Susan Lewis and Kathryn Hughes’ The Letter.

Previously published as When It Rains. This edition contains significant editorial revisions.

Buy It Here!

Amazon / Apple Books / Kobo / GooglePlay

My Review

This is the first book I have read by this author.  It has been previously released under the title When It Rains, but this copy does contain significant editorial revisions.  This is the story of Holly and her family.  She returns back to her family home when her Nana, Annie is dying.  Whilst there, Holly discovers that Annie, wrote a story of her life back in 1958 when she met the love of her life, Arthur ‘Sketch’ Talbot.  Holly finds the handwritten book and together with her family reads to the story to Annie.  As she reads it, Holly is forced to face the reality of her life at that moment – pregnant but her unborn baby is seriously ill, Holly’s relationship with Nate is also dying.  Can Annie’s story help her through this time?

Wow, this was one seriously emotional book!!  Told from two different timescales, present day from Holly’s point of view and in 1958 from Annie’s point of view, this book certainly took me on one hell of a rollercoaster ride of emotions!  Beginning in the present day, my heart went out to Holly journeying back to her family home to be with her Nana in her last few days.  Holly was such a likeable character, as was all the family, and it was clear to see how distraught Holly was with not only the upset of Annie dying, but also the news that her unborn baby had a serious illness and was unlikely to survive also.  I couldn’t imagine what poor Holly was going through but admired her courage for staying as strong as she did throughout the book.  I could see her broken relationship with her partner, Nate was one worth saving, and I was willing Holly throughout the book to also see that she needed him just as much as he needed her.

Annie’s story was just wonderful.  Set back in 1958 when Annie was a teenage girl, her story is interspersed amongst the present day chapters.  Again my heart went out to another generation of this family, and I absolutely loved the young Annie.  This was though, another heart-breaking tale as Annie and her mother suffered physical abuse from the hands of her alcoholic father, but meeting Arthur ‘Sketch’ Talbot gives Annie a chance of happiness.

Both stories was heart-breaking, yet with a strange sense of happiness.  This book shows the strength of true love and family relationships. I have made it all sound like all doom and gloom, but it really isn’t like that at all!  Yes, there are some overwhelmingly sad parts, but the gaps are filled with love and tenderness that make even the sad parts feel so much better.  The writing was beautiful and the last few chapters certainly stay with you long after the book is finished.  Whilst they are written very sensitively, it does have some topics which may be upsetting, so just a word of warning.

A story of love, loss, family, secrets and regret, this book will certainly tug at your heartstrings.  I was completely hooked from the very first page and only managed to dry my eyes after I had finished the book.  Would highly recommend, but would also make sure you have a large box of tissues at the ready as you are going to need them!

The Author

USA Today bestselling author Brooke Harris is a self diagnosed romance addict. Realising at the age of seven that being a real person and not a cartoon character may prove a hindrance when applying for a role as a Disney Princess, she decided to create her own stories. As a grown up Brooke tried swapping the heels and tiaras in her stories for sex and revenge and published her first book, Rules of Harte in 2014. The Harte Series went on to become a #1 international bestseller.

Brooke lives in Kildare, Ireland with her young family. She daydreams about a climate where it doesn’t rain every day, but secretly she loves the green fields and heritage of Ireland.

Facebook / Twitter