BlogTour #Review #NetGalley #LifeOrDeath #ZacBoateng

Release Date: 23rd January 2019 / Publisher: Bookouture

Never forget. Never forgive.

As a detective in the Metropolitan police, Zac is no stranger to murder cases, but this one is different. This is his daughter’s murder. 

Years after Amelia died, Zac is still trying to trace the police office involved in his daughter’s death.

And whilst Zac is prepared to break every rule to find the man responsible, his young and ambitious deputy, Kat, is working on a high profile case of her own. But she knows Zac is keeping secrets from his team so she’s following his every move.

When one of Zac’s informants is killed, he knows he’s close to catching his man, but before he can act, he receives a call about his son which blows his world apart… And this time, he knows he’ll stop at nothing to save his family.

A gripping and addictive crime thriller for fans of Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Mark Dawson, Life or Death is an unputdownable thriller that will have you reading into the night. 

Buy It Here!

Amazon

iBookstore

Kobo

Googleplay

My Review

This is book #3 of the D.I. Zac Boateng series.  It can be read as a standalone book, but it does have references to the previous books, so I would recommend to read in order.

Detective Inspector Zac Boateng is still on the hunt for the person who killed his daughter, Amelia.  He believes it to be Kaiser, an unknown killer who Zac also believes is a corrupt Metropolitan Police Officer.  As usual, Zac does his own thing in investigating the case, but when one of his informants is killed, he knows he’s getting nearer to finding out who Kaiser is.  When his son, Kofi goes missing, Zac realises he will need share the task of finding Kaiser with the rest of the team….but who can he trust?

Hooray!!  Zac is back!!!  I have read the other two books of the series and have loved them but this one knocks the spots off of those!!  I flew through this book and finished it in just under a day!!  Zac is such an intriguing character and I’ve so enjoyed trying to work him out through this series.  He is still grieving over the murder of his daughter and won’t rest until her killer is found.  All throughout the series he has ‘gone rogue’ and done his own investigation off the record, but in this book he gets help from DS Kat Jones, who is definitely a well-needed ally!  I do like Zac’s character and really feel for him in this book.  Nothing ever seems to go right for him despite so much hard work he puts in to get the results needed.  Kat Jones is another great character in this book, being cast as Zac’s loyal sidekick.  She obviously has admiration for her boss and would do anything to help him, even if it means breaking his trust sometimes.

The book is fast paced and gripping from the very first page.  Obviously it helped that I had read the previous two books, so understood the story, but even if you haven’t it’s all easily explained.  I found myself not trusting anyone, and I loved how Kaiser could be a serving police officer, and even one of Zac’s team.  For me, it just added that extra bit of suspense of who could be trusted and who couldn’t.  I suspected almost everyone, and still got it wrong!  I loved the twists and turns in the story and how it never gave me any clue whatsoever as to who Kaiser was until it was almost at the reveal!

This was a great mix of Zac’s personal and work life, balancing it out perfectly so they come together to give us one high-action police thriller.  The book was very well researched with great detail going into the descriptions of some parts, particularly with the guns where there was great expert knowledge, and it gives a glimpse into some of the shadier places of London!  It covers police corruption, murder, child abduction and gun-running….what more could you want!!

I really hope this isn’t the end of this series and there is more from Zac Boateng to come!  It definitely was, for me, the best book of the series so far!  Highly recommended!

The Author

Chris Merritt is a Clinical Psychologist and former diplomat based in London, who has been writing on psychology since 2010. In 2014 he decided to combine his Bring Her Back, his debut novel. He currently works on a mental health research project at King’s College London, and part-time as a psychologist in the NHS. When not working or writing, he loves climbing and basketball, and dreams of one day being able to work from home enough to own a whippet.

Twitter / Goodreads