BlogTour #Review #NetGalley #TheSecretVow

Release Date:  11th December 2018 / Publisher:  Bookouture

Katya – young, beautiful and impoverished – arrives in Paris, hoping to begin a new life. She leaves behind a terrible secret, and her survival in this strange and beautiful new city depends on nobody ever discovering who – and what – she is.

Immediately, Katya is swept up in the city’s glamour – particularly the boutiques on the main boulevard, where glittering gowns are hand-sewn for an exclusive clientele. Dare Katya dream that she may someday wear – or even design – one of these dazzling creations? It feels like an impossible wish, until she meets businessman Harry Morten.

Tall, handsome and well-connected, Harry could give Katya everything she wants and more… but at what price? And should she break the vow she’s made and trust him with her secret when her very survival could be at stake?

From the bestselling author of The Milliner’s Secret comes a glittering wartime romance with a dark secret at its heart – perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Gill Paul and Tracy Rees.

The Dress Thief:
WINNER – 2014 Festival of Romantic Fiction’s Best Historical Read
WINNER – 2015 Public Book Awards.
Shortlisted – 2015 Romance Writers of America (RWA) RITA Awards

Buy It Here!

Amazon / Applebooks / Kobo / Googleplay

MY REVIEW

Beginning in Russia in 1918, this story details the life of Katya who is fleeing from Russia to Paris to begin a new life.  Leaving in devastating circumstances, Katya’s survival balances on her being able to keep who she really is a secret.  Meeting handsome Henry Morgan on the journey to Paris, he appears to be her knight in shining armour, but can he really be trusted?

This is the first book that I have read by this author.  The synopsis of the book sounded so intriguing that I knew I had to read it. Katya is such an interesting character, coming across as very strong willed on the outside but obviously weaker and frightened on the inside.  But, who can blame her after facing the atrocities which she and her family have gone through.

I love Harry’s character and warmed to him from the first time he was introduced to us!  The hint of a love story between him and Katya kept me turning the pages to see what happens.  Similarly the story of her missing sister, Vera also kept me hooked and I found the suspense of this storyline particularly gripping!

The location of post war Paris was beautifully described and you can actually feel you are there experiencing it first-hand.  This is definitely a book filled with heartache, suffering, lies and betrayal, although there still is plenty of romance and passion!  I found this book to be a captivating and elegant read which is perfect for any historical fan!  Would definitely recommend!

THE AUTHOR

Natalie is a RITA nominated writer, a USA Today Bestseller and author of four novels: The Dress Thief, The Milliner’s Secret (soon to be re-titled “The Girl who Dreamed of Paris”) and The Wardrobe Mistress which comes out as an ebook in June 2017 and in paperback in Europe in August 2017.

In the late 1970s, Natalie Meg Evans ran away from art college in the Midlands for a career in London’s fringe theatre. She spent five years acting, as well as writing her own plays and sketches before giving it up to work in PR. She now writes full-time from her house in rural mid Suffolk. 

Natalie has collected numerous awards for her writing including the UK’s Harry Bowling Prize (2012). The Dress Thief was nominated for a coveted RITA Award by Romance Writers of America and it won the Greek Public Book award for the best foreign novel; also, the UK’s Festival of Romance readers award (where readers rather than industry professionals select and judge) in the historical category. The Milliner’s Secret was shortlisted for the same award.

Natalie was also nominated for the coveted Daphne du Maurier award and was named a finalist for a Romance Writers of America Golden Heart award.

Twitter / Facebook