BlogTour #Review #NetGalley #KeepHerClose

Release Date:  5th December 2018 / Publisher:  Bookouture

Someone took your daughter. And nobody believes you…
Then:
Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot.
She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter.
What kind of person would abandon their daughter?
Now:
Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. 
But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing. 

A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll. 

Buy It Here!

Amazon

iBookstore

Kobo

Googleplay

My Review

The book is set mainly in present day and the story revolves around Ally receiving a letter from someone who claims to be her father.  He is dying and wants to meet her after years of searching for her.  Clashing with Dan, her adoptive father about her meeting him, Ally disappears after arranging a meeting with him.

By this point I was well and truly hooked into the story.  I liked Dan and Holly’s characters, both obviously being good people for adopting Ally all those years before.  You can also tell there is a lot of things which has happened between over the years, which precipitated their divorce and as the story moves on you find out what actually happened.  They both obviously love Ally, but both have different ways of dealing with situations. Holly is more level headed and rational, Dan is fiery and quick-tempered,which doesn’t help him when Ally goes missing. 

I empathised with Ally’s parents, particularly Holly as being a parent myself I could feel the unease building up inside me when they discover Ally had disappeared.  Whilst I’d like to think I would be as calm and sensible as Holly appeared, I just know I would have been like Dan, demanding to know from whoever I came across what they knew about his daughter and where she was.  The story twists and turns producing question after question as to what was going on, who was involved and what had happened to Ally, and as I got further into the book the answers were coming fast and furious.  It did though leave me with some unanswered questions, mainly to do with Ally’s room-mate, Ellie. 

It was definitely an unsettling but addictive thriller,building up the suspense and tension throughout the book.  For me, the book was a great read!  It was fast faced, cleverly thought out and enjoyable.  What I initially thought had happened turned out to be completely wrong and the story had a completely different ending to what I expected. Would definitely recommend.

The Author

Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering for his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his seventeen-year-old. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty places in the world UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature.

Website / Twitter / Goodreads / Facebook