#Review #BlogTour #NetGalley #TheUnlikelyHeroics

Release Date:  9th August 2018 / Publisher:  Headline

Unlikely Heroics Cover (1)

A feel-good novel that will make you laugh and cry. The perfect book club
read for fans of The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove, and The Keeper of Lost
Things. Charming, quirky, and bursting with heart.This is no ordinary love story and Sam is no typical hero…but he is a hero.

Sam Holloway has survived the worst that life can throw at you. But he’s not
really living. His meticulous routines keep everything nice and safe – with just one
exception…

Three nights a week, Sam dons his superhero costume and patrols the streets. It
makes him feel invincible – but his unlikely heroics are getting him into some
sticky, and increasingly dangerous, situations.

Then a girl comes into his life, and his ordered world is thrown into chaos … and
now Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to finally take off the
mask.

Both hilarious and heart-warming, this is a story about love, loneliness, grief, and
the life-changing power of kindness.

Buy It Here!

thumbnail_FINAL Unlikely Heroics Blog Tour Poster


REVIEW NEW 1

Sam Holloway is a superhero!  Three nights a week he puts on his superhero costume and takes to the street to fight crime.  Sam’s ‘normal’ life is anything from normal.  Thanks to Sam’s past, he has put up so many walls around him that he doesn’t really ‘live’ – apart from when he’s a superhero!  This is his life, until one day he meets a girl, and she begins to break down his walls….

This was my first book by this author.  I was drawn to the cover, which looked so fun and cheery!  The book was in a way like this, but it was also full of heart-breaking and heart-warming moments.  Sam’s character was wonderful – I just loved him from the first word!  As the story moves on, you realise Sam has had such a lonely childhood which has continued into his childhood.  The story switches between Sam’s present day story to him growing up and the transition between these two times are done so well and aren’t confusing in the least.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.  There are so many good things about it that I can’t mention them all.  My favourite parts are, of course, when Sam is in his superhero persona!  These moments are so beautifully done but also so funny and light-hearted!  I felt such a warm glow reading this book, something I rarely get from other books.  It is not just a book about loneliness, loss and sadness, but also about friendship, love and understanding!  Highly recommended!


THE AUTHOR NEW 1

Rhys Thomas lives in Cardiff with his long-term girlfriend and two cats, Henry VIII
and Sheldon Tilllikum Cooper.

Rhys Thomas Author Picture