@StephenEdger

#BlogTour #Review

thumbnail_Dying Day Blog Tour

Release Date:  17th November 2017  / Publisher:  Bookouture

Format:  Kindle / Pages: 326


BUY IT HERE!

Amazon UK / Amazon US


thumbnail_Dying-Day-Kindle

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge…

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken…

Mysterious sympathy cards sent to the victims’ families finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising?

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and M.J. Arlidge.



Thank you to Netgalley and the Publishers, Bookouture for this review copy, given in exchange for an honest review.  Also thank you Kim and Noelle for organising this blog tour!

This is book number 2 in the Detective Kate Matthews series.  It can be read as a standalone, but obviously to understand the story it does make sense to read the books in order.

Detective Kate Matthews is still after the person who killed Amy, a young undercover detective, one year ago.  She’s also on the pursuit of another killer who is killing women in a similar way.  After Kate is told to stay away from the investigations and suspended, there is no one else who believes that the murders are all the work of one person.  She carries on investigating behind her superior’s back, with help from fellow detective Laura, and Amy’s brother Finn.  Can she find the killer?

This is, ashamedly, my first Stephen Edger book.  I have yet to read book number one, but will definitely be going back to read it.  Not just to see if it’s as good as this one, but also to understand the story behind Kate Matthews.  You either love her or hate her.  She gives no thought to rules and regulations, she drinks, is ruthless and stubborn, is obsessed with her previous cases to the point of pinning paperwork up all over the walls of her home, she lets her young daughter down and finds it hard to maintain a relationship.  But….she’s also dedicated to the point of doing anything in her power to make sure the bad guys are caught, and she doesn’t listen to anyone who disagrees with her.  Right or wrong, she gets the job done, which in my book can’t be all bad!

The story is fast faced, switching between the two different killing sprees just over one year apart. Also added is Amy’s story from one year ago, leading up the day when she was killed, and the reveal as to who murdered her.  I honestly didn’t get the twist until it happened and really didn’t see it coming!

A great thriller which kept the pages turning right to the very end!

Five Stars!


Stephen Edger is a British crime writer, who has been writing since 2010. In that time he has written and published eleven novels, and five short stories. He writes mysteries and thrillers focused on crime.

Stephen was born in the north-east of England, grew up in London, but has lived in Southampton since attending university in the year 2000. Stephen works in the financial industry, and uses his insider knowledge to create the plots of his books. He also has a law degree, which gives him a good understanding of the inner workings of the UK justice system.

Stephen is married, and has two children, and two dogs. He is passionate about reading and writing, and cites Simon Kernick and John Grisham as major influences on his writing style.

Website / Facebook / Twitter